Journal Articles / Electronic Databases - Indigenous Learning - Métis in Canada

Key Article Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text

Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. Coverage: 1955-
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans)

Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026.
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)

Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles Coverage: 1971 -
Full text content 1985 –
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index)

Bilingual resource to more than 400 English- and French-language journals, including more than 30 American titles dealing with North American and international issues. It provides both Canadian and worldwide coverage of mainstream and academic periodicals, as well as 80 business journals. It includes some full-text titles. Coverage: 1980-

Multidisciplinary Databases

Proquest Search (Proquest)
Includes over 20 databases in a variety of subjects including business, nursing, psychology, sociology, education, political science, etc.
JSTOR
JSTOR includes full-text content of more than 1,400 academic journals, as well as thousands of primary sources.
Sage Journals Online
A collection of over 500 full-text journals in the Social Sciences and the Humanities.

Scholars Portal Journals

A digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
(Gale) Is a searchable database of academic and scholarly journals. It contains more than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text.

Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books)

Includes Canadian E-books.

Online Resources

Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The iPortal content has a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Canadian Encyclopedia Online
The Canadian Encyclopedia plays an essential role in providing Canadians and others with accurate, updated information about our people and country.
The move to digital, made in 2001, means the Encyclopedia is available free to anyone with Internet access; it now receives more than eleven million unique visitors annually for 25 million page views.