- Library
- Research Guides
- Literature Review Tips in Education
- Theses and Dissertations
Literature Review Tips in Education
Search for Dissertations and Theses
There are many resources which will help you identify and access graduate level theses originating from Lakehead University, Brock University and University of Windsor as well as from elsewhere in Canada, or internationally.
For assistance on locating Lakehead University dissertations check this page.
For assistance on locating Brock University dissertations check this page.
For assistance on locating University of Windsor dissertations check this page.
Search tools for locating theses/dissertations from elsewhere in Canada or internationally are listed below:
- Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
Full-text versions of Canadian theses and dissertations published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002. Also contains bibliographic records of all theses in the National Library of Canada theses collection, which was established in 1965.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) - Can be requested through Interlibrary loanInternational theses can be found by searching their catalogue.
- EBSCO Open DissertationsSearch thousands of open dissertations.
- eThOS (British Library)Search over 250,000 theses in the UK. Many theses available for free downloading
- National Library of Australia Trove ServiceResources relating to Australia - including theses.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)This site provides links and information to several electronic and dissertation databases
- OATD - Open Access Theses and DissertationsResource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations.
- OpenThesisA free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents, coupled with powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
- Directory of Dissertations in ProgressContains more than 21,000 dissertations that have been completed or are currently -in progress in the United States and Canada since 1882. This directory is the merger of two previous online publications, Dissertations in Progress (online from 1999 to 2005) and the Directory of Completed Dissertations.
- PhdData.orgHolds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world
- PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses)Provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. As of 2012, the database contains 13,000 publications and continues to grow.
- ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories)The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.
- TEL (thèses-EN-ligne)The purpose of TEL (thèses-EN-ligne) is to facilitate the self archiving of thesis manuscripts, which are important documents for direct scientific communication between scientists.
- Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Waterloo)This collection includes a subset of theses submitted by graduates of the University of Waterloo as a partial requirement of a degree program at the Master's or PhD level. It includes all electronically submitted theses. (Electronic submission was optional from 1996 through 2006. Electronic submission became the default submission format in October 2006.)
This collection also includes a subset of UW theses that were scanned through the Theses Canada program. (The subset includes UW PhD theses from 1998 - 2002.) - Electronic Theses and Dissertations - University of SaskatchewanThis collections holds all University of Saskatchewan electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) published since 2005. More than 700 print theses published before 2005 have been digitized and added to the collection as well.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The world's largest network of library content. It contains more than 1 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries. It includes books, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, and videotapes.
How to Search for Theses/Dissertations in ERIC
It is possible to find theses and disserations by searching ERIC. Here are some tips for searching:
- ERIC via Proquest - select as document type "Dissertations/theses"
- ERIC via U.S. Department of Education website - enter your search term and narrow your search by publication type "Disserations/Theses" on the left side of results page