Skip to Main Content

Indigenous Learning - Indigenous Authors; Biographies; Languages; & Legends

Seven Grandfather Teachings - Books

The Seven Grandfather Teachings show how to live in harmony with Creation through wisdom, love, respect, bravery, honesty, humility and truth.

Many Aboriginal organizations and communities have adopted the 7 guiding principals, in one form or another, as a moral stepping stone and cultural foundation.

Seven Sacred teachings of White Buffalo Calf Woman.
Reg E 98 F6B74

The Vision Seeker
Reg E 99 C6W465
The Good path: Ojibwe learning and activity book for kids.
Reg E 99 C6P38
The Mishomis Book: the voice of the Ojibway
Reg E 99 C6B44

Rabbit and Bear Paws Sacred Seven (descriptive website)
By Chad Solomon & Christopher Meyer
Reg E 98 F6S655   (7 vols)

Vol 1:  Respect
Vol 2:  Courage
Vol 3:  Love
Vol 4:  Honesty
Vol 5:  Humility
Vol 6:  Truth
Vol 7:  Wisdom

Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws
By Chad Solomon & Christopher Meyer
Reg E 98 F6S654  (6 vols)

Vol 1:  The sugar bush
Vol 2:  The voyageurs
Vol 3:  True hearts
Vol 4:  Tall tale
Vol 5:  Bear walker
Vol 6:  Council of the animals

Note: link is to volume 1. Each volume must be searched separately.

The Seven Teachings of the Anishinaabe - love, wisdom, humility, courage, respect, honestry, & truth.
By Katherena Vermette Reg E 98 F6V47  (7 vols)

C - The first day of courage
H - Misaabe's stories:  a story of honesty
H - Singing sisters:  a story of humility
L - The just right gift: a story of love
R - Kode's question:  a story of respect
T - What is truth, Betsy?: a story of truth
W - Amik loves school: a story of wisdom

Note: link is to volume 1. Each volume must be searched separately.

Achieving Aboriginal student success: a guide for K to 8 classrooms. (contains a chapter on the Seven Grandfather teachings) North E 96.2 T699 2011


The Clan System

The Medicine Wheel - examples of titles in the collection

Teachings of the Seven Prophets: The Seven Fires