3D Resources
3D Design Software
- Autodesk - Fusion 360, Inventor Pro, TinkerCAD
- Adobe Creative Cloud - PhotoShop 3D
- Gravity Sketch for the Oculus Rift - available in the Makerspace
Need help getting started with any of the Autodesk or Adobe Creative Cloud applications? Check out the tutorials on LinkedIn Learning , formerly Lynda.com.
MatterControl - Aside from being a 3D slicing software, MatterControl lets you make 3D designs from 2D images (photos, drawings, etc.) We've also used it to make 3D stencils from hand sketches.
TouchTerrain - Lets you create 3D models of topographic data (primarily U.S. data). Exports models as .STL files so they can be 3D printed.
3D A-to-Z by
Since the invention of the stereoscope in 1830, stereoscopic 3D has remained on the cutting edge of the media and entertainment industry. Every 20 to 30 years, a new generation rediscovers stereo filmmaking, fueling its resurgence with additional twists introduced by the technological advancements of the intervening years. This encyclopedic dictionary offers a definitive compilation of information on the art and science of stereoscopic 3D, including still and moving images; film and digital image acquisition; production, post-production, distribution, and exhibition; and human visual perception. In addition to standard dictionary definitions, it includes many extended encyclopedic entries and nearly 300 black-and-white and color illustrations. Taking the mystery out of 3D's unique language, the work provides a basis for clear communication among industry professionals and historical context for those new to the discipline.
ISBN: 9780786468249Publication Date: 2012-04-16
3D Modeling in Archaeology and Cultural Heritage Theory and Best Practices by
The book derives from the experiences of the authors as lecturers and tutors at different international summer schools on reality-based surveying and 3D modelling in the field of archaeology and cultural heritage. The book is organized in three main sections. The first part aims to introduce and discuss the contribution of geomatic techniques in archaeology and more generally in cultural heritage with particular attentions to the 3D domain. The second part is focused on the main areas involved in the implementation of 3D surveys (aerial and terrestrial LiDAR, photogrammetry, remote sensing), 3D documentations, GIS and 3D interpretations (virtual and cyber archaeology). The last section collects some relevant case studies showing the extraordinary contribution that geomatic techniques can give to archaeological research and cultural heritage at different scales of detail: object, site, landscape.
ISBN: 9781407312309Publication Date: 2014-02-15
3D Scientific Visualization with Blender by
This is the first book written on using Blender (an open-source visualization suite widely used in the entertainment and gaming industries) for scientific visualization. It is a practical and interesting introduction to Blender for understanding key parts
ISBN: 9781627056120Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Augmented Reality by
There is at present no publication specifically dedicated to analyzing the philosophical implications of augmented reality, especially regarding knowledge formation, which constitutes a fundamental trait of knowledge society. That is why this volume includes an analysis of the applications and implications of augmented reality. While applications cover diverse fields like psychopathology and education, implications concern issues as diverse as negative knowledge, group cognition, the internet of things, and ontological issues, among others. In this way, it is intended not only to generate answers, but also, to draw attention to new problems that arise with the diffusion of augmented reality. In order to contemplate these problems from diverse perspectives, the auhors are from a variety of fields - philosophy, computer sciencess, education, psychology, and many more. Accordingly, the volume offers varied and interesting contributions which are of interest to professionals from multiple disciplines.
ISBN: 9783110497656Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Learning in Virtual Worlds by
Three-dimensional (3D) immersive virtual worlds have been touted as being capable of facilitating highly interactive, engaging, multimodal learning experiences. Much of the evidence gathered to support these claims has been anecdotal but the potential that these environments hold to solve traditional problems in online and technology-mediated education--primarily learner isolation and student disengagement--has resulted in considerable investments in virtual world platforms like Second Life, OpenSimulator, and Open Wonderland by both professors and institutions. To justify this ongoing and sustained investment, institutions and proponents of simulated learning environments must assemble a robust body of evidence that illustrates the most effective use of this powerful learning tool. In this authoritative collection, a team of international experts outline the emerging trends and developments in the use of 3D virtual worlds for teaching and learning. They explore aspects of learner interaction with virtual worlds, such as user wayfinding in Second Life, communication modes and perceived presence, and accessibility issues for elderly or disabled learners. They also examine advanced technologies that hold potential for the enhancement of learner immersion and discuss best practices in the design and implementation of virtual world-based learning interventions and tasks. By evaluating and documenting different methods, approaches, and strategies, the contributors to Learning in Virtual Worlds offer important information and insight to both scholars and practitioners in the field.
ISBN: 9781771991339Publication Date: 2016-04-15
Programming 3D Applications with HTML5 and WebGL by
Create high-performance, visually stunning 3D applications for the Web, using HTML5 and related technologies such as CSS3 and WebGL--the emerging web graphics standard. With this book, you'll learn how to use the tools, frameworks, and libraries for building 3D models and animations, mind-blowing visual effects, and advanced user interaction in both desktop and mobile browsers. In two parts--Foundations and Application Development Techniques--author Tony Parisi provides a thorough grounding in theory and practice for designing everything from a simple 3D product viewer to immersive games and interactive training systems. Ideal for developers with Javascript and HTML experience. Explore HTML5 APIs and related technologies for creating 3D web graphics, including WebGL, Canvas, and CSS Work with the popular JavaScript 3D rendering and animation libraries Three.js and Tween.js Delve into the 3D content creation pipeline, and the modeling and animation tools for creating killer 3D content Look into several game engines and frameworks for building 3D applications, including the author's Vizi framework Create 3D environments with multiple objects and complex interaction, using examples and supporting code Examine the issues involved in building WebGL-based 3D applications for mobile browsers
ISBN: 9781449362966Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Seeing the Past with Computers by
Recent developments in computer technology are providing historians with new ways to see--and seek to hear, touch, or smell--traces of the past. Place-based augmented reality applications are an increasingly common feature at heritage sites and museums, allowing historians to create immersive, multifaceted learning experiences. Now that computer vision can be directed at the past, research involving thousands of images can recreate lost or destroyed objects or environments, and discern patterns in vast datasets that could not be perceived by the naked eye. Seeing the Past with Computers is a collection of twelve thought-pieces on the current and potential uses of augmented reality and computer vision in historical research, teaching, and presentation. The experts gathered here reflect upon their experiences working with new technologies, share their ideas for best practices, and assess the implications of--and imagine future possibilities for--new methods of historical study. Among the experimental topics they explore are the use of augmented reality that empowers students to challenge the presentation of historical material in their textbooks; the application of seeing computers to unlock unusual cultural knowledge, such as the secrets of vaudevillian stage magic; hacking facial recognition technology to reveal victims of racism in a century-old Australian archive; and rebuilding the soundscape of an Iron Age village with aural augmented reality. This volume is a valuable resource for scholars and students of history and the digital humanities more broadly. It will inspire them to apply innovative methods to open new paths for conducting and sharing their own research.
ISBN: 0472131117Publication Date: 2019-01-24
Serious Games and Virtual Worlds in Education, Professional Development, and Healthcare by
Too often the suggestion of using games and virtual environments in an educational setting is met with skepticism and objections. Many traditionally-oriented educators are simply not aware of the benefits that come from implementing digital games into an instructional environment. Serious Games and Virtual Worlds in Education, Professional Development, and Healthcare seeks to counter these doubts by explaining how digital environments can easily become familiar and beneficial for educational and professional development. Highlighting techniques beyond the traditional practice, this reference source is useful for researchers, academics, professionals, and students interested in the benefits to implementing these games into various aspects of our environment.
ISBN: 9781466636736Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Teaching Health Care in Virtual Space by
Teaching Health Care in Virtual Space is the first "how-to" manual for health educators on the instructional use of three-dimensional, computer-generated virtual environments that can be inhabited simultaneously by many participants; commonly called "multi-user virtual learning environments" or MUVE. Based on her experience supervising more than 400 learning activities in Second Life®--as of 2014, the largest public (free) MUVE--Dr. Estelle Codier has written a step-by-step handbook for novice and experienced MUVE teachers alike. The book provides those new to virtual teaching with specific steps to assess their own instructional readiness, guidance for assessing student and class readiness, as well as detailed descriptions of problem prevention and solutions. The text is accompanied by lively case studies of both success and failure in virtual learning environments. Inspiring stories of student learning illustrate the power of MUVE to transform health care education. This innovative handbook presents an extended discussion of the pedagogical advantages for learning in multi-user virtual environments, along with a history of learning in Second Life®. The text includes an appendix of supporting materials for MUVE learning activities: evaluation grids, grading matrices, syllabus descriptions, and detailed orientation materials for both faculty and students. While the sample learning activities were designed for nurses, instructors in other disciplines could easily adapt them for use in any MUVE setting.
ISBN: 082485800XPublication Date: 2016-07-31
