Primary Junior Kindergarten

Recent research tells us that one of the keys to student success is self-regulation - the ability to monitor and modify emotions, to focus or shift attention, to control impulses, to tolerate frustration or delay gratification. But can a child's ability to self-regulate be improved? Canada's leading expert on self-regulation, Dr. Stuart Shanker, knows it can and that, as educators, we have an important role to play in helping students' develop this crucial ability. Distinguished Research Professor at York University and Past President of the Council for Early Child Development, Dr. Shanker leads us through an exploration of the five major domains--what they are, how they work, what they look like in the classroom, and what we can do to help students strengthen in that domain.--Publisher's description.

There's no such thing as a bad kid. That's what a lifetime of experience has taught Dr. Stuart Shanker. No matter how difficult, out of control, distracted, or exhausted a child might seem, there's a way forward: self-regulation. Overturning decades of conventional wisdom, this radical new technique allows children and the adults who care for them to regain their composure and peace of mind.   Self-Reg is a groundbreaking book that presents an entirely new understanding of your child's emotions and behavior and a practical guide for parents to help their kids engage calmly and successfully in learning and life.

This book "answers that question by detailing how four models or streams of self-regulation environments develop in our classrooms and schools. Each stream is outlined with practical tools and strategies you can use to enhance your classroom so that it reflects and embodies the theory and practice of self-regualtion for the benefit of all - you, your students, parents and the community at large. This includes: - a description of each stream - what does it look like? sound like? feel like? -- Scenarios based on real classrooms and real teachers that exemplify the stream - strategies to help you begin or extend the stream in your classroom - stories from the field, written by practising educators, that explore one or more stream characteristics - an easy-to0implement model that can be used with students, parents and other practitioners, along with application tips - an accompanying website that features videos, line masters and additional hands-on-support. Where 'Calm. alert and learning' answered the what and why of self-regualtion, this handbook answers that all-important question of how to make it happen in your class and school. This book will help you take your understanding of the science of self-regulation to a whole new, deeper level. " -- back cover.

The "Zones" concept and learning activites help children and adults manage their emotions and sensory needs while also addressing executive functioning skills and "Social Thinking" concepts. The "Zones" teaches students and clients how to identify their levels of arousal and/or sensory need, which calming strategies work for them. The "Zones" strategies are applicable to elementary regular education and all levels of special education students (early childhood through high school depending on congnitive abilities and maturity level).

"Ants in my Pants is a story about a young Indigenous girl who struggles to focus. She has a hard time sitting still and loves to be active. This rhyming story follows the young girl throughout a day at school and at home. Through her struggles to focus, she begins to understand that she also has many strengths. Learn the tools and techniques that she uses to stay calm and to focus. A perfect book for students who struggle to focus."-- Provided by publisher.

Yes, bucket filling is the moment by moment choice to be kind and caring. Teaching and encouraging children to be "bucket fillers" is one of the greatest gifts you can give to them. You give them the key to being happy. This book of rhyming verse uses the letters of the alphabet to help young and old see the many, simple ways that they can fill buckets and fill their own buckets in return."--Jacket flap

A young girl discovers a vacant park next door to her new house that is intended for butterflies, but when she has trouble getting butterflies to stay there, her new neighbors help her plant flowers to attract them.

Every September 21 on the International Day of Peace, children around the world wish in many different languages for peace.--Title page verso.

Uses the metaphor of a bucket filled with good feelings to show how easy and rewarding it is to express kindness, appreciation, and love on a daily basis.

A stunning celebration of mindfulness, meditation, and enjoying each moment, from the team behind the award-winning Windows. This lush picture book is a fantastic tool for engaging children 3-7 who are schooling from home who are eager to feel connected to their world while managing new anxieties.

I Can Do That! helps children learn self-regulating techniques. Told through rhyme from a child's point of view, strategies are shared empowering the child to effectively learn and practice ways they can control their emotions and actions when they feel themselves becoming dysregulated. The discussion questions at the end of the book provide an easy transition for counselors and parents to open a discussion, assisting the child in exploring ways they can learn to manage themselves.

Illustrations and evocative text show how imagination can reveal the extraordinary in the everyday.

A little girl has a wonderful idea. With the help of her canine assistant, she is going to make the most magnificent thing! She knows just how it will look. She knows just how it will work. But making the most magnificent thing turns out to be harder than she thinks.

For "Peace Week," the animals in Miss Fox's class find ways to be peaceful, instead of squabbling with each other.

Hospitalized with the dreaded atom bomb disease, leukemia, a child in Hiroshima races against time to fold one thousand paper cranes to verify the legend that by doing so a sick person will become healthy.

Uses silly jokes and light-hearted cartoons along with serious advice to help readers recognize the causes of stress and its effects and learn how to handle worry, anxiety, and stress.

Learn about different emotions, what they mean, how they make you act, and why you have them.

Illustrations and rhyming text portray children experiencing a range of emotions, including frustration, shyness, jealousy, and pride.

What kind of thoughts are in your mind? Are they angry or are they kind? Children who struggle with negative thoughts may wonder how to make them go away. In this guided, illustrated meditation for kids, author Louise Bladen offers a simple mindfulness practice, not to banish bad thoughts, but to feel calm in the midst of thoughts that come and go. Children will learn how to breathe and center themselves in their bodies, find different ways to think about their positive and negative thoughts, and ultimately learn that they have the ability to feel calm and at peace no matter what kinds of thoughts happen to be in their mind at any particular moment.

Teaches children about what it means to be present by discussing about the important gift of appreciation, giving children and adults alike the opportunity to live more fully and richly.

Simple text and illustrations portray what peace looks, sounds, tastes, feels, and smells like to children around the world.

"Teaches school-age children cognitive-behavioral techniques to reduce and overcome anxiety, fears, and worry, through writing and drawing activities and self-help exercises and strategies. Includes introduction for parents"--Provided by publisher.

Children around the world remind us of their need for love and affection by asking us to fill their buckets. Tender responses affirm that bucket filling is the essence of loving and being loved.

Sometimes we just need to take a pause -- to stop, breathe, and take a moment for ourselves. To be mindful. Told in rhyming verse and beautifully illustrated, A World of Pausabilities is an inviting introduction to mindfulness. Following a neighborhood on a summer day, readers will learn how to apply mindfulness to simple, everyday moments, and how days are filled with endless possibilities to take a pause. Includes a Note to Parents and Caregivers that further discusses mindfulness and ways to introduce pauses into your child's life. Age range 4-8.

Resonant sayings to inspire happiness and mindfulness are paired with exquisite artwork by Caldecott Honor Book and New York Times Bestselling author/artist Jon J Muth. This beautiful, small-format gift book contains twelve inspiring and affirmational sayings that take on deeper meaning when paired with Jon J Muth's profoundly beautiful Zen books, many featuring the beloved panda bear, Stillwater. This is a book to cherish. Every saying inspires delight, and each picture is worth a thousand words!Nourishment for the spirit!

Everybody Present illustrates the transformative effects of mindfulness on educators, students, and their classrooms. Using concrete examples, Didde and Nikolaj Flor Rotne present a mode of classroom engagement that reduces stress to make room for thoughtful learning. A working manual addressed to everyone in the educational universe, Everybody Present presents real-world applications grounded in solid research. Stories, exercises, and case studies demonstrate the effectiveness of mindful practices across all areas of education. By exploring the challenges of teaching, Everybody Present will help all educators transform feelings of inadequacy into experiences of abundance. Everybody Present seeks to create a new kind of culture in our schools- one that counters stress and facilitates learning. It reframes the student-teacher relationship, showing teachers how to supplant antagonism and foster strong relationships by planting seeds of mindfulness in their students and encouraging them to embark on a mindfulness practice of their own. Everybody Present is intended to contribute to the creation of a culture throughout the educational system writ large, working against stress and victim mentality to set in motion a revolution of silence, allowing each individual the experience of inter-being, inner calm, and joy.

"Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this popular guide provides expert information and clear-cut strategies for assessing and treating internalizing problems in school settings. More than 40 specific psychoeducational and psychosocial intervention techniques are detailed, with a focus on approaches that are evidence based, broadly applicable, and easy to implement. Including 26 ready-to-use worksheets, in a large size format with permission to photocopy, the second edition has been updated throughout to ensure its currency and clinical utility. Coverage of psychiatric medications has been extensively revised with the latest developments and findings. A new chapter addresses prevention-oriented social and emotional learning curricula for the classroom."

"Now in a revised and expanded second edition, this popular guide provides expert information and clear-cut strategies for assessing and treating internalizing problems in school settings. More than 40 specific psychoeducational and psychosocial intervention techniques are detailed, with a focus on approaches that are evidence based, broadly applicable, and easy to implement. Including 26 ready-to-use worksheets, in a large size format with permission to photocopy, the second edition has been updated throughout to ensure its currency and clinical utility. Coverage of psychiatric medications has been extensively revised with the latest developments and findings. A new chapter addresses prevention-oriented social and emotional learning curricula for the classroom."-

"Certified yoga instructor Jennifer Cohen Harper introduces Little Flower Yoga for Kids, a fun and unique program that combines yoga and mindfulness in an easy-to-read book. This program is designed especially for parents and kids, and is aimed at teaching children to pay attention, increase focus, and balance their emotions--all while building physical strength and flexibility. Based on a growing body of evidence that yoga and mindfulness practices can help children develop focus and concentration, the simple yoga exercises in this book can easily be integrated into their child's daily routine, ultimately improving health, behavior, and even school achievement"

This boxed card deck includes 50 creative mindfulness games, visualizations and exercises divided into 5 categories to help children feel grounded, find calm, improve focus, practice loving-kindness and relax. Whimsical full-color illustrations on both sides of the cards break down each practice into easy-to-follow steps. Tips on individual cards plus an 8-page instructional booklet show modifications that make these activities inclusive for children of all abilities. Perfect for parents, teachers, therapists and homeschoolers.

Now you can discover the calming and rejuvenating practice of yoga at home with Cyndi Lee, founder of New York's OM yoga center and creator of OM yogaoa unique blend of Hatha yoga and Buddhist mindfulness. These cards, created especially for beginners, are conveniently divided into sections: Warm-Up, Sun Salutation, Standing Poses, Seated Poses, Backbending, Finishing Poses, and Relaxation.--Page [4] of booklet cover.

Connect the ancient practice of yoga with indigenous culture. These cards celebrate our connection to each other, to our animal friends, and to this amazing planet we all share."--[card]
These cards include simplified text, making them suitable for individual yoga practice and children of all ages. Handy, user-friendly and fun, each Strong Nations Yoga Card presents a physical practice and a reflective practice. The endless combinations and versatility of these cards make them ideal for all levels and any age. Choose an individual card, or one of each colour to create a sequence, or several cards at once for a longer yoga practice.

​Gold Medal, 2013 Mom's Choice Awards Silver Medal, 2014 Nautilus Awards Visiting Feelings invites children to sense, explore, and befriend any feeling with acceptance and equanimity. Includes a Note to Parents. Do you have a feeling that's visiting today?  Can you open your door and invite it to play? Visiting Feelings harnesses a young child's innate capacity to fully experience the present moment. Rather than labeling or defining specific emotions and feelings, Visiting Feelings invites children to sense, explore, and befriend any feeling with acceptance and equanimity. Children can explore their emotions with their senses and gain an understanding of how feelings can lodge in the body, as conveyed by common expressions like "a pit in the stomach" or "lump in the throat." Children can cultivate this emotional intelligence and nurture a sense of mindfulness. In essence, mindfulness is tuning into yourself and paying attention to the present moment without judging or analyzing what you are thinking or feeling. Practicing mindfulness can enhance many aspects of a person's well-being, help develop insight and empathy, and enhance resiliency. Taking the time to practice mindfulness as a family is a remarkable gift for parents to give to their children, and will help children as they navigate the teen years and adulthood. Includes a "Note to Parents" to provide more information about emotional awareness, and suggests ways to seamlessly incorporate mindfulness practices into your child and family's daily routines.

"Yoga shows that all beings (regardless of age) desire the same thing : peace. Yoga for Teens teaches how to attain this peace, for intermediate and high school aged kids, through using different yoga poses, breathing techniques, meditations, and writing "AUMwork" exercises. Each chapter focus on how using yoga can help teens properly cope with one emotion that they often face in their daily lives. Combining the teachings of yoga with the personal stories provided by the author and other yoga teachers who reflect back on their own teenage lives to inspirational stories written and art work reflecting these emotions drawn by teens today, Yoga for Teens explains how to use yoga for anger fear, gratitude, patience, focus, love, and confidence. The book uses honesty to talk about the things that teens go through from depression, drug use, alcohol use, sex, stress, driving, home issues, school, peer pressures, body image issues, social media, cyber bullying, focus and ADD, first loves, friendships, and fights (along with many other topics teenagers face currently today). In understanding the history of yoga (including the 8 limbs, 7 chakras, and AUM) and the benefits of the practice, teens will learn how to become and stay physically, mentally, and emotionally strong, releasing the stress teens often face, enabling them to grow into strong, peaceful adults."--

A playful and easy way to teach yoga.