Media Literacy

In this lesson for Grades 9-12, students play the #ForYou card game and use it as a prompt to learn about and discuss the role that algorithms, data collection, and machine learning play in their lives.
#ForYou is a card-based pattern-matching game that helps youth aged 13 to 18 understand the role that algorithms play in their online and offline lives, and the value of their personal information to companies that use those algorithms. The game is designed to be delivered either in school or in community spaces such as homework or coding clubs. The discussion guide includes a gameplay overview, instructions on how to run the game as a workshop, a pre-brief and debrief before and after each round of the gameplay to introduce and discuss key ideas about algorithms, rules for quickplay, and a glossary of key terms. The lesson plan for Grades 9-12, students play the #ForYou card game and use it as a prompt to learn about and discuss the role that algorithms, data collection, and machine learning play in their lives.

The online world has real dangers, but girls around the world are using social media to create positive change and practice good digital citizenship. You've probably seen media stories about the ways girls interact online, with headlines like "Depression in Girls Linked to Higher Use of Social Media," or "Half of Girls Are Bullied on Social Media." Better Connected focuses on the less-recognized and positive aspects of the online experiences of girls. From environmental activism to gun control, immigration policy to education access, girls are leading the way. They're showing up, teaming up and speaking up. With profiles of real changemakers and practical tools for getting started, Better Connectedis an inspiring look at the amazing things girls can accomplish online.

Help Students to develop essential media literacy skills. Students will learn to identify the purpose of various media forms, create media texts and think critically about the media messages they encounter on a daily basis. Activities are ready-to-go and reproducible. Teacher tips and checklists are included.

Help Students to develop essential media literacy skills. Students will learn to identify the purpose of various media forms, create media texts and think critically about the media messages they encounter on a daily basis. Activities are ready-to-go and reproducible. Teacher tips and checklists are included.--Publisher's description.

Teach middle school students to become savvy consumers of the TV, print, and online media bombarding them every day. In this timely book copublished by Routledge and MiddleWeb, media literacy expert Frank W. Baker offers thematic lessons for every month of the school year, so you can engage students in learning by having them analyze the real world around them. Students will learn to think critically about photos, advertisements, and other media and consider the intended purposes and messages. Topics include: Helping students detect fake news; Unraveling the messages in TV advertising; Looking at truth vs propaganda in political ads and debates; Revealing how big media influences the news we read; Understanding how pictures changed America during the Civil Rights Movement; Exploring the language of film and the symbols of costume design; Thinking about how media appeals to our emotions; Examining branding, product placement, and the role of celebrity; Reading and interpreting iconic news images; And much, much more! In addition, the book's lesson plans contain connections to key standards and step-by-step activities you can use immediately. With this practical book, you'll have all the tools and ideas you need to help today's students successfully navigate their media-filled world.  

From the authors of the bestselling Fact vs. Fiction, this book offers easy-to-implement lessons to engage students in becoming media literacy "digital detectives," looking for clues, questioning motives, uncovering patterns, developing theories and, ultimately, delivering a verdict. The current news landscape is driven by clicks, with every social media influencer, trained and citizen journalists chasing the same goal: a viral story. In this environment, where the race to be first on the scene with the most sensational story often overshadows the need for accuracy, traditional strategies for determining information credibility are no longer enough. Rather than simply helping students become savvy information consumers, today's educators must provide learners with the skills to be digital detectives - information interrogators who are armed with a variety of tools for dissecting news stories and determining what's real and what isn't in our "post-truth world." This book: Shares meaningful lessons that move beyond traditional "fake news" protocols to help learners navigate a world in which information can be both a force for good and a tool used to influence and manipulate. Includes resources and examples to support educators in the work of facilitating engaging, relevant (and fun!) instructional opportunities for K-12 learners, in both face-to-face and digital learning environments. Unpacks the connection between social-emotional learning and information literacy. Includes access to the Digital Detective's Evidence Locker, an online collection of over 100 downloadable and remixable resources to support the lessons in the book. As the authors state: "Remember, the detective's job is NOT to prove themselves correct. Their job is to detect the truth!" This statement reflects the way they approach the lessons in this book, providing clear and practical guidance to help educators address and overcome this ever-expanding issue. Audience: K-12 educators and library media specialists

Being a good digital citizen means to be an ethical and responsible member of the online community. Digital citizenship is the practice and teaching to help individuals, particularly young people, know how to navigate, create, communicate and protect themselves online. As more and more technology is used in personal lives and schools, the need for digital citizenship grows. Digital Citizenship: Research and Practice from the Field provides research-based strategies that can help any educator working with technology and youth. Through experience and data collected by teaching in-depth digital citizenship classes with K-12 students, special populations and educator trainings, this book can provide real-life advice on what works, and what doesn't. The models and advice in this title are based on prevention science. Prevention Science is the application of scientific method to prevent dysfunctional human behavior before it even starts. In addition, this book will give its readers worksheets, activity sheets, lesson plans and assessment tools for implementing digital citizenship instruction in their organization. Digital citizenship is a growing, multi-faceted, interdisciplinary subject in need of research and practical and applicable advice. This book brings together past studies, independent research and knowledge from other disciplines to provide solutions.

Discover ways to help students develop relationships based on mutual trust and understanding in digital spaces and become active, participatory citizens in these spaces. For years, much of the available curricula for teaching digital citizenship focused on "don'ts." Don't share addresses or phone numbers. Don't give out passwords. Don't bully other students. The conversation then shifted, with digital citizenship curriculum moving toward teaching students how to positively brand themselves so that they would stand out for future scholarships and job opportunities. In the end, both messages failed to address one of the most important aspects of citizenship: being in community with others. As citizens, we have a responsibility to give back to the community and to work toward social justice and equity. Digital citizenship curricula should strive to show students possibilities over problems, opportunities over risks and community successes over personal gain. Digital Citizenship in Action aims to do just that. This book includes: Tips for creating a digital space where students can try something new, grow through mistakes, and learn what it means to be a citizen in different spaces. "Spotlight Stories" from teachers engaged with participatory digital citizenship that demonstrate how these ideas play out in actual classrooms. Featured activities to help you integrate these ideas into your classroom. In this book, you'll find practical ways to take digital citizenship beyond a conversation about personal responsibility so that you can create opportunities for students to become participatory citizens in online spaces. Audience: 6-12 educators, curriculum directors and library media specialists

Our discussion paper Mapping Digital Literacy Policy and Practice in the Canadian Landscape draws on policy and curriculum documents from across the country to synthesize key concepts and best practices in current digital literacy education.

Discover the role media can play in preparing students to compete in a global society in which cultures, economies, and people are constantly connected. Learn how to merge technology and instruction successfully, giving students greater access to knowledge and making learning more meaningful. The authors provide practical tips for incorporating media literacy into the traditional curriculum.

The blurring of entertainment, information, and persuasion is reshaping work, life, and citizenship. As a result, our relationship to media has never been so important nor so complex. By asking critical questions about what they watch, listen to, read, and use, students can be better prepared to be responsible communicators who can use a variety of formats and genres for self-expression and advocacy.

Covering a wide range of topics including the rise of news partisanship, algorithmic personalization and social media, stereotypes and media addiction, advertising and media economics, and media influence on personal and social identity, Renee Hobbs helps students develop the lifelong learning competencies and habits of mind needed to navigate an increasingly complex media environment.

Though media literacy and information literacy are intertwined, there are important differences; and there has never been a more urgent need for an incisive examination of the crucial role librarians and other educators can play in teaching the skills necessary to access, analyze, evaluate, and create media. Media literate youth and adults are better able to understand the complex messages emanating from television, movies, radio, the internet, news outlets, magazines, books, billboards, video games, music, and all other forms of media.  In this book, international expert De Abreu melds advice from a diverse array of practitioners and subject experts with her own research findings to examine how consuming media and technology impacts the learning of K-12 students, tackling such paramount issues as fake news/alternative facts; critical thinking digital literacy and digital citizenship; social inclusion and equity; global interconnectivity; and social justice and advocacy.

This new resource about digital citizenship consists of a print curriculum document and a CD containing reproducible lesson materials in English and French. This resource provides ETFO members with lessons to use with students from ELKP to Grade 8 that will assist in teaching digital citizenship skills.--Publisher's website.

Since the 2016 presidential election, the term fake news has become part of the national discourse. In this book, leading civic education scholars unpack why fake news is effective and show K-12 educators how they can teach their students to be critical consumers of the political media they encounter.

Whether from television news reports, the car radio, digital media, or adult discussions, children are often bombarded with unsettling information about the world around them. When the events being described include violence, extreme weather events, a disease outbreak, or discussions of more dispersed threats such as climate change or terrorism, children can get frightened and overwhelmed just like adults. This updated edition in the bestselling What-to-Do series can help. What-to-Do Guides for Kids are interactive self-help books designed to guide kids using-cognitive-behavioral techniques most often used in the treatment of various psychological concerns. Engaging, encouraging, and easy to follow, these books educate, motivate, and empower children to work towards change.