Skip to Main Content

Media Literacy: Spotting Fake News

Reliable News Sources (Non-Subscription)

Reliable News Sources Available through the Library (Subscription)

Access to the latest issues of newspapers listed below are available through Lakehead University Library.   Access is available to current students, staff and faculty of Lakehead University.  Login with your LU email username and password to connect from off-campus.

You can search through these Library newspaper databases to find current and reliable newspaper articles on the topic in question:

Canadian Major Dailies (formerly Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies Included in this searchable database are national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Globe and Mail, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.

LexisNexis Academic Besides including cases, statutes, law reviews and other legal information, LexisNexis Academic also provides access to: *Full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers, including top-tier news publications such as The New York Times® and The Washington Post® and local, national, and international sources;*News from more than 300 local and regional newspapers, blogs and other web sources via WebNews. WebNews aggregates relevant information from the websites of newspapers that are not formally included in LexisNexis Academic subscription such as The Times-Picayune, the Seattle Times, The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and the Orlando Sentinel. Full text of articles from more than 1,000 magazines and journals and more than 1,000 newsletters, such as American Journalism Review, Business and Finance Week, Newsweek®, Library Journal®, New Republic, and Variety

Reliable Dictionaries/Encyclopedias Available through Library

Facts can be verified by consulting reputable dictionaries and encyclopedias from reliable and reputable publishers.  Check this listing of dictionaries/encyclopedias available through Lakehead University Library.

Access is available to current students, staff and faculty of Lakehead University. Login with your LU email username and password to connect from off-campus.