Environmental Law

The Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Governance and Politicssurveys the broad range of environmental and sustainability challenges in the emerging Anthropocene and scrutinizes available concepts, methodological tools, theories and approaches, as well as overlaps with adjunct fields of study.

The Research Handbook on International Water Lawsurveys the field of the law of shared freshwater resources. In some thirty chapters, it covers subjects ranging from the general principles operative in the field and international groundwater law to the human right to water and whether international water law is prepared to cope with climate disruption.

Climate change has thrust us into a ''no-analog'' future in which climate disasters threaten to cause extraordinary damage, with little precedent to guide policymakers and private actors. Addressing such risks requires a firm grounding in disaster risk reduction, climate change policy, and environmental law. This Research Handbook provides readers with that integrated foundation, investigating topics in international law as well as domestic programs from countries around the world. Because climate disasters affect both government and non-government actors, the Research Handbook covers issues of both public and private law.

This thoroughly updated and revised second edition combines practical and theoretical analyses to cover a wide array of cutting edge issues in international environmental law (IEL). The Research Handbook provides a comprehensive view of the complexity of IEL, both as a field in its own right, and as part of the wider system of international law.