Research Guides: Environmental Law: e-Journals & Databases

Indexes

Index to Canadian Legal Literature (via WestlawNext)

Environmental Databases

Web of Science

Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-
GreenFILE

Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
JSTOR

Full-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 500 open access e-books.
Springer Nature LINK Journals

Includes over 1500 full-text journals. Subjects covered include: biology, chemistry, medicine, mathematics, physics etc.

Legal Databases

Legal databases can contain case law, legislation, archives, reference materials, textbooks, and journal collections.

EcoLex
ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN, and UNEP
CALI (Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction) For Law Students Only

A consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education.
HeinOnline
See subject-relevant databases like Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights, as well as numerous journals on Environmental Law and Energy Law.

Also includes:

*Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law
*Scottish Legal History: Featuring Publications of the Stair Society
*Air and Space Law
*John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
*Executive Privilege
*Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASÉ)
Lexis+ Canada - for Law Students only (formerly Lexis Advance Quicklaw)

LexisNexis upgraded legal database for Canada with comprehensive primary and secondary sources. Includes access to Practical Guidance.

All new Law Students will need to register for this product.
LLMC - Law Library Microform Consortium

A collection of archival digital material including government publications and legal materials from Canada, the United States, and other countries.
Westlaw Edge (Law Students Only)

Database of Canadian Law and legal research.

Law Students will need to register for this product.

Climate Change Litigation Databases
This site provides two databases of climate change caselaw. The Global database includes all cases except those in the U.S. Cases in the databases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. For many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints, and other case documents
Climate Change Laws of the World
Climate Change Laws of the World covers national-level climate change legislation and policies globally. The database covers climate and climate-related laws, as well as laws and policies promoting low carbon transitions, which reflects the relevance of climate policy in areas including energy, transport, land use, and climate resilience.