Northern Studies Resource Centre
The Northern Studies Resource Centre was established in 1988 in conjunction with Lakehead University’s Lakehead Centre for Northern Studies. Originally created to encourage interest in northern and regional research, it has continued to expand its collection to become a significant depository of materials which focus on northern issues. The collection is multifaceted and contains print materials, electronic databases, microfilm/microfiche, maps, and more. The resource centre has become an important component of the research conducted by students and faculty of Lakehead University.
For information regarding the Northern Studies Resource Centre when the Centre is closed, please enquire at the Reference Desk on the Main Floor of the Library.
The Centre houses several special collections: Regional, North, and University. Each collection focuses on a separate geographic area or mandate.
The Centre is open to all Lakehead University students, staff, faculty, and interested members of the community.
Regional Newspapers
Want to find local newspapers? The library currently subscribes to: Algoma News (Wawa); Atikokan Progress; Fort Frances Times; Ignace Driftwood; Nipigon/Red Rock Gazette; and Rainy River Record. Other newspapers can be identified by searching with the following subject heading: ONTARIO, NORTHERN - NEWSPAPERS.
Index/Databases for Newspaper Articles
-
Canadian Newsstream Collection (formerly Canadian Major Dailies) This link opens in a new window
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Most titles are updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
-
Gateway to Northwestern Ontario History [includes Thunder Bay District News Index] This link opens in a new windowThis is a subject index which brings together newspaper and magazine articles on Thunder Bay and northwestern Ontario. This index includes more than 50,000 headlines over the past 16+ years.