Research Guides: English Language Resources: Find ELL Articles & Journals

Databases for Finding ELL Articles

Article databases are used to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Databases index articles so that you can search for those dealing with a particular subject. Many databases contain full-text articles.

Databases contain both popular & scholarly articles. Although they deliver their content through the web, these databases are paid for through library subscriptions.

For example in Education Source you can enter the following search in the Advanced Search boxes:

english language study & teaching (change search type to SUBJECT)

AND

teaching methods (change search type to SUBJECT)

Education Source

Education Source includes the full-text for more than 1,900 English language journals, and provides indexing for nearly 3,500 journals with coverage dating back to 1929. Provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Information on all educational specialties is included as well as all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Education Source also includes access to books and education conference proceedings.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026. For more information, see below:
To preview the new interface, click here.
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA)
Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles

ERIC (via ProQuest)
Scholarly research on Education.

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators
The Ebsco platform will have a new interface in December 2025/January 2026.
Why?
The new updated platform reflects what users need - a clear, comprehensive and easy to use interface.
What do I need to do?
Most of your saved searches will transfer automatically to the new interface.
Which of my saved MyEbsco folder items will NOT be transferred to My Dashboard in the new interface?
Any items saved to custom or shared folders, in addition to the following items in your general MyEbsco folder, are not available in My Dashboard.
- Companies
- Webpages
- Journal Alerts
- Search Alerts
- Persistent Link to Searches
- Notes
- Pages
- Other Content Sources
How can I download the data from MyEbsco custom folders in the classic Ebsco interface?
Please note that you have until December 31, 2025 to download your data.
1. Sign into the new Ebsco interface with your MyEbsco account
2. Click Projects under the left-hand Dashboard navigation bar.
Note: if the Dashboard is set to collapsed by default, click the arrow to expand it.
3. On the Projects screen, click the Get Report button to begin the creation of the Excel file for your content.
Note: that all folders are tied to a user profile and Lakehead's institutional ID. If you have custom folders in a different group or profile, you will need to access and download those separately.
4. Once the file is ready for download, click the Download Report button.
5. The Excel file will be downloaded to your browser's downloads folder with the filename: Ebsco_folder_report.xlsx. Each custom folder will appear as a separate tab (worksheet) within the Excel file, unless you have over 255 custom folders, then they will all appear on the 1st tab (due to a worksheet limitation in Excel).

Important TESL/ESL Journals and Magazines

Here is a selection of journals available through for Teaching English Language Learners:

Contact Newsletter of the Association of Teachers of English as a Second Language of Ontario.

NYSTESOL Journal The NYS TESOL Journal is the official journal of NYS TESOL- New York State Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages.

TESL Canada Journal Published in the interests of 9 associations interested in teaching English as a second language. Situated at the Faculty of Education of McGill University.

TESL-EJ The Electronic Journal for English as a Second Language

TESOL Journal

TESOL Quarterly Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages.

The Canadian Modern Language Review. Ontario Modern Language Teacher's Association.