All textbooks approved for use in Ontario Kindergarten to Grade 12 classrooms are listed on the Trillium List found on the Ontario Ministry of Education website. Both Faculty of Education Library locations maintain a collection of currently approved K-12 textbooks.
On both campuses this textbook collection includes currently approved K-12 textbooks as well as other textbooks that are used in local schools, teacher guides and other approved student materials (big books, blackline masters, activity cards etc).
For assistance in locating a title please ask the Library staff.
Ontario Ministry of Education Curriculum Documents are available online through the Ministry of Education's Curriculum page.
Copies of Ministry of Education curriculum documents and other teaching documents are also available in the Education Libraries on both campuses.
Print Historical Curriculum Documents
On the Thunder Bay Campus, the Education Library offers a Historical Collection of Ontario approved K-12 textbooks dating back to the 1800s. Also included in this collection are print copies of historical Ontario Ministry of Education K-12 curriculum documents as well as other Ontario historical education documents from the late 1800s. You can search Omni to locate an item by title in this collection.
Online Historical Curriculum Collections
Many historical curriculum documents are also available in these Online Collections:
OISE's Ontario Historical Education Collections (OHEC): The Government Document Collection includes numerous documents, mainly from the Ontario Ministry of Education (formerly the Ontario Department of Education) that cover the areas of elementary, secondary and teacher education in the Province from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day.
Internet Archive: Ontario Government Education Documents and Curricula: The Ontario Government Education Documents Collection includes materials from the Ontario Ministry of Education covering the areas of elementary, secondary and teacher education in the province from the mid-nineteenth century onward. It includes curricula, teaching and certification guidelines, school administration documents, as well as educational legislation, commissions, and reports.