- Library
- Research Guides
- Northern Studies: Northern Canada/ Circumpolar North
- Journal Articles/Online Indexes
Northern Studies: Northern Canada/ Circumpolar North
Key Article Databases
- ASTIS This link opens in a new window(Arctic Science and Technology Information System) - Recent literature about the north (Yukon and Northwest Territories, the northern parts of the provinces and some material from other circumpolar regions). Coverage: 1974-
- Circumpolar Health Bibliographic DatabaseThe CHBD describes publications about public health, medicine and human biology. All types of publications, both peer-reviewed and grey literature, are included.
The database is maintained by, and is a subset of, the Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS) at the Arctic Institute of North America, University of Calgary.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles Coverage: 1971 -
Full text content 1985 –
- High North Research DocumentsHigh North Research Documents is a searchable database for freely available (open access) research documents within the thematic scope of the circumpolar high north, covering all subject areas.
Other Databases
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. Coverage: 1955-
- Canadian Major Dailies (formerly Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies) This link opens in a new window
Includes 15 full-text Canadian Major Daily newspapers. Earliest coverage: 1977-
- Compendex This link opens in a new window
Access to over five million summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings in all areas of engineering. Coverage: 1969-
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.
- SPRILIB This link opens in a new window
(Scott Polar Research Institute) Ice and Snow - A collection of publications covering all aspects of snow and ice worldwide. Coverage: 1661-
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.
- Canadian Electronic Library (via Scholar Portal Books) This link opens in a new window
Includes Canadian E-books.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full-text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- JSTORJSTOR includes full-text content of more than 1,400 academic journals, as well as thousands of primary sources.
- Sage Journals OnlineA collection of over 500 full-text journals in the Social Sciences and the Humanities.
- Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new window
A digital repository of over 40 million scholarly articles covering every academic discipline.
- CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) (Gale)Bilingual resource to more than 400 English and French language journals, including more than 30 American titles dealing with North American and international issues.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)(Gale) Is a searchable database of academic and scholarly journals. It contains more than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text.
- Proquest Search (Proquest)Includes over 20 databases in a variety of subjects including business, nursing, psychology, sociology, education, political science, etc.