Northern Studies: Northern Canada/ Circumpolar North

You can search for images, black and white photographs, colour photographs, graphs, charts etc. using the database Bibliography of Native North Americans.

How do you that?

Once in the database, click on the link to Images at the top of the page.

Type in your search terms and if you wish, you can limit your search to black or white photographs or colour etc.

Please note that this option is available in several Ebsco databases including: America: History & Life with Full Text,  GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Professional Development Collection and Teacher Reference Center and Education Full Text.

Image Usage Permission: What am I allowed to do with this image?
Copyright of this image is the property of PUBLISHER and the image may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listserv without the copyright holder’s express written permission. The image may be printed for personal, non-commercial use; used in presentations for educational use consistent with the Copyright Act of 1976; but may not be posted on the Web or used in any other form of mass media without express written permission from the copyright holder.
 

When referencing images that come from articles, it is perfectly acceptable to cite the parent article.

If you want to specifically cite the image, use the article citation and make the following changes:

1. Check the article content for additional source information, such as a photographer or illustrator.
   • If an alternate name is available, use that in place of the article's author(s).
      
2. If the image has a title or caption, use that in place of the article title.
    
3. After the article or image title and before the journal title, insert the image type.
   Image types are: Chart, Diagram, Graph, Illustration, Map, or Photograph.
    
4. Replace the page range of the article with the page number for the image.
    

AMA Style

Article:

Enders A, Brandt Z. Using Geographic Information System Technology to Improve Emergency Management and Disaster Response for People With Disabilities. Journal of Disability Policy Studies [serial online]. Spring 2007;17(4):223-229. Available from: Academic Search Premier, Ipswich, MA. Accessed December 14, 2007.

Image:

Enders A, Brandt Z. Mapping disability-relevant resources. Map. Journal of Disability Policy Studies [serial online]. Spring 2007;17(4):227. Available from: Academic Search Premier, Ipswich, MA. Accessed December 14, 2007.

APA Style

Article:

Buggey, T. (2007, Summer). A Picture Is Worth .... Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 9(3), 151-158. Retrieved December 14, 2007, from Academic Search Premier database.

Image:

Buggey, T. (2007, Summer). Storyboard for Ivan's morning routine. Diagram. Journal of Positive Behavior Interventions, 9(3), 151. Retrieved December 14, 2007, from Academic Search Premier database.

Chicago: Author-Date Style

Article:

Woodruff, Paul H. 2006. "Educating Engineers to Create a Sustainable Future." Journal of Environmental Engineering 132, no. 4: 434-444. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed December 14, 2007).

Image:

Woodruff, Paul H. 2006. "Earth's population." Graph. Journal of Environmental Engineering 132, no. 4: 435. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed December 14, 2007).

Chicago: Humanities Style

Article:

Talbot, David. "Saving Holland." Technology Review 110, no. 4 (July 2007): 50-56. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed December 14, 2007).

Image:

Vermeer, Dura. "High and dry concept." Photograph. Technology Review 110, no. 4 (July 2007): 56. Academic Search Premier, EBSCOhost (accessed December 14, 2007).

MLA Style

Article:

Maynard, W. Barksdale. "Thoreau's House at Walden." Art Bulletin 81.2 (1999): 303. Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Web. 19 Nov. 2002.

Image:

"Clown Fish." Getty Images. Points of View. EBSCO. Web. 30 Jan. 2007.

Vancouver/ICMJE Style

Article:

Gaynor M. Why Don't Courts Treat Hospitals Like Tanks for Liquefied Gases? Some Reflections on Health Care Antitrust Enforcement. Journal of Health Politics, Policy & Law [serial on the Internet]. (2006, June), [cited December 14, 2007]; 31(3): 497-510. Available from: Academic Search Premier.

Image:

Gaynor M. Hospital Market Concentration, 1985 - 2000. Chart. Journal of Health Politics, Policy & Law [serial on the Internet]. (2006, June), [cited December 14, 2007]; 31(3): 499. Available from: Academic Search Premier.

The Gateway to Northwestern Ontario History is a virtual gallery of historic photographs, books, drawings and artifacts from the libraries and museums of Northwestern Ontario. The collection is hosted by OurDigitalWorld. It provides access to the historical digital collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, government agencies, and private collections from across Thunder Bay, Ontario, and Canada. Copyright restrictions may apply. (Thunder Bay Public Library)

The database can be found here.

If you wish to limit your search specifically to images, go to the advanced search screen, and under Media Type, limit your search to images.