Government Documents Search
Search Canadian Government Documents
Statistics
- 2016 Census programThe 2016 Census of Population Program offers a wide range of analysis, data, reference and geographical information according to topics (subjects) that paint a portrait of Canada and its population.
- 2011 NHS ProfileThis profile presents information from the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS) for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas/census agglomerations, census divisions, census subdivisions, census tracts, federal electoral districts and health regions.
- Data (Statistics Canada - formerly CANSIM)CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System) is Statistics Canada’s database providing access to current and historical time series data on a wide variety of subjects.
- Climate dataIncludes links to historical climate data, current climate summaries, historical weather radar, engineering climate datasets and others.
- Conference Board of Canada: e-DataThe Conference Board of Canada: e-Data provides economic intelligence on Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan areas and the United States.
Note: e-Data contains raw data which can be downloaded.
Historical Data is also available from CANSIM (Statistics Canada) database, Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) database, Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA) MLS® databases and reports, and US data including macro-economy, labour statistics, and consumer and price indexes.
Data Sources
Note: Data files are commonly subject to restricted use under the terms of the licensing agreements signed by the Library. In many cases, use is limited to members of the university community and for research and academic purposes only.
- ODESIStatistics Canada datasets, datafiles from Gallup Canada and other polling companies and public domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys
Many data formats are available including SPSS, SAS, Stata and text.
Beyond 20/20 software is available when needed for some ODESI files. - DLI (Data Liberation Initiative)The Data Liberation Initiative provides Canadian academic institutions with affordable access to Statistics Canada data files and databases for teaching and research.
- FNIGC Data OnlineThe First Nations Information Governance Centre provides access to data including the First Nations Regional Health Survey (FNRHS, or RHS) and the First Nations Regional Early Childhood, Education and Employment Survey (FNREEES).
- Borealis, the Canadian Dataverse Repository (Formerly Dataverse)Access datasets from Ontario universities - many are available for downloading and reuse. Lakehead researchers may also upload datasets for preservation and sharing.
- Federated Research Data Repository (Canada)The platform’s federated search tool will provide a focal point to discover and access Canadian research data, while the range of services provided by FRDR will help researchers store and manage their data, preserve their research for future use, and comply with institutional and funding agency data management requirements.