Tutorials for cool search features
Tools for brainstorming search terms
- Thesaurus.comA general english language online thesaurus.
Sometimes the hardest thing to do is figure out alternate search terms. Try some of the sources below to kickstart your chemistry research by thinking differently about your subject.
- CAS Registry of Chemical SubstancesChemical structures can be discovered by searching by molecular formula, CAS Registry Number, ring size and other chemical attributes. This search is often referred to as a dictionary search. The CAS REGISTRY is the most authoritative collection of disclosed chemical substance information, containing more than 88 million organic and inorganic substances and 65 million sequences. Use the CAS registry number in the Chemical Abstracts Database.
- Common Chemistry (index to common CAS registry terms)Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Alternate terms and synonyms are provided. A more extensive list of CAS numbers is available in the Chemical Abstracts Databases.
Chemical Abstracts - off campus
If you use Chemical Abstracts off-campus, you might run into a "this connection is untrusted".
You can bypass this warning by doing the following:
In Chrome:
Click on "Proceed anyway"
In Firefox:
1.Click on "I understand the risks"
2.Click on "Add Exception"
3.Click on "Confirm Security Exception"
In IE:
Click on "Continue to this website (not recommended)"
Key Article Databases
- Chemical Abstracts - Note restricted hours of access This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the world's chemical literature. Restricted hours of access: 8:00 am Sunday to 5:00 am Monday, 5:00 pm to 5:00 am Monday to Friday. 5:00 pm Friday to 6:00 pm Saturday. Coverage: 1907 -
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowAccess to over five million summaries of journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings in all areas of engineering. Coverage: 1969-
- Scholars Portal Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 8,400 full-text scholarly journals
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes index to dissertations and theses and conference proceedings and cited reference searching. Coverage: 1975-
- Search it All - Chemistry and Applied SciencesA collection of hundreds of databases limited to specific subject areas in Chemistry, Technology, Applied Science
Other Databases
- ProQuest Business Resources (a collection of six different ProQuest databases related to business and industry around the world.)ProQuest Business Resources includes the following:
ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
CBCA Complete: Business
CBCA Complete: Science & Technology
ProQuest Asian Business & Reference
ProQuest European Business
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowA collection of 30 comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year concentrating on
disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowIncludes PubChem (3 databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay)
Coverage: 1947-
*Free database
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1800 full-text journals. Subjects covered include: biology, business, chemistry, medicine, nursing, physics etc.
- SpringerLINK Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1500 full-text journals. Subjects covered include: biology, chemistry, medicine, mathematics, physics etc.