- Library
- Research Guides
- History
- Journal Articles
History
Canadian History Databases
-
A Guide to Peer Reviewed Journals in Canadian HistoryAs of 2016, includes a list and links to peer-reviewed journals publishing Canadian History, and tips for identifying reliable sources.
-
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
-
Early Canadiana OnlineDigital library providing over a million pages of Canada's printed heritage. Good for primary sources.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new windowChronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750. Free database
-
Heritage (Canadiana.ca) This link opens in a new window
The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 60 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.
-
Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new windowHistory and culture of the Canadian Prairies. It is based on the Peel's Bibliography of the Canadian Prairies. Good for Primary Sources
World History Databases
History resources covering Africa, Asia, Australian, Europe, New Zealand, South American, and the United States. Also including ancient and medieval history.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excludes North America)
Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text multidisciplinary archive of journal articles. Includes over 120 history journals
-
ITER Bibliography (formerly ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance) This link opens in a new windowIndex to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700) Coverage: Journal titles indexed in Iter (published since 1784) Collection of essays indexed in Iter (published since 1931)
Other Databases
-
AtoZ Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Collection of resource materials on selected cultures from all major areas of the world.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
An online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
Includes coverage from inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals, Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
-
Project MuseCan be accessed on mobile devices with a web browser, such as the iPhone, iPad, or Android.
Related Databases
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (formerly Bibliography of Native North Americans) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life Coverage: Works published from the 16th century to the present.
Note: A new interface is coming in December 2025/January 2026.
To preview the new interface, click here.
-
CAIRN This link opens in a new windowAccess to an index of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. (does not include full-text access)
-
iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowThe Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.
It is an initiative of the University of Saskatchewan Library.
*Free database -
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowAccess to approx. 400 full-text academic journals in the humanities, fine arts, social sciences, mathematics and medicine.
Searching for the History of Medicine?
Are you looking for articles on the history of medicine?
How about PubMed?
PubMed. a life sciences database, includes a subset for the History of Medicine.
Try it here!