HIST 4851, Introduction to Archival Studies
Resources for accessing research and scholarship in archival science and archival studies.
Instructor
Sara Janes
Contact:
LI 5008, 5th floor of the Chancellor Paterson Library.
Email me for an appointment: sjanes1@lakeheadu.ca
Email me for an appointment: sjanes1@lakeheadu.ca
(807) 343-8272
Other Helpful LibGuides
- Archives at Lakehead UniversityEverything you need to know to access records at our own Archives.
- Research in Archives (Thunder Bay, Canada, and Around the World)Helping you plan in-person and digital archival research at institutions locally and worldwide.
Texts and References
Books for which there are required readings are available electronically through the library:
- Required Text: Archives: Principles and Practices, Laura Millar, Neal-Schuman Publishers, 2010
- Recommended: The Future of Archives and Recordkeeping, Jennie Hill, ed, Facet, 2011
- Recommended: Better Off Forgetting: Essays on archives, public policy, and collective memory, Cheryl Avery & Mona Holmlund, eds, University of Toronto Press, 2010
- Recommended: Currents of Archival Thinking, Terry Eastwood & Heather MacNeil, eds, Libraries Unlimited, 2010
More books are available at the Chancellor Paterson Library for regular loan. Some which might be of interest include:
- Providing Reference Services for Archives and Manuscripts, Mary Jo Pugh, Society of American Archivists, 2005
- Manual for Small Archives, Small Archives Committee, Association of British Columbia Archivists, 1988
- Controlling the Past: Documenting society and institutions, Terry Cook, ed, Society of American Archivists, 2011
- Archives Power: Memory, Accountability, and Social Justice, Randall Jimerson, Society of American Archivists, 2009
- Archiving the Unspeakable: Silence, memory, and the photographic record in Cambodia, Michelle Caswell, University of Wisconsin Press, 2014
- Rules for Archival DescriptionAccess to the complete set of archival description standards.
- Dictionary of Archives TerminologyDefinitions for any of the new terms you'll encounter in class and in the readings.
- Archives Terminology StudyStackUses vocabulary from the SAA Dictionary, selected specifically for this class.
- Dublin Core MetadataOfficial specifications for use of the Dublin Core Metadata elements.
Course Website on D2L
- HIST4851 on D2LLinks to readings, syllabus material, and more.