Skip to main content
 

Archives at Lakehead: Photograph Collections

Lakehead University Photographs

The Library Archives contains a collection of photographs which document the history of Lakehead University.  Most of the photographs are black and white and are from the period 1960-1990. They are grouped in a variety of broad topics which include: 

70's reunion Engineering Nor'wester cover photos
Agora Events Nursing
Athletics Faculty and staff Open house
Awards Fieldhouse Performers
Biology Forestry Physics
Board of Governors Fundraising Presidents
Bookstore Geography Regional Education Centre
Business Administration Geology Research
Cafeteria Health Sciences North Residence
Ceremonies Laboratories Student life
Chancellor Lakehead College Students
Chemistry Lakehead Technical Institute University Campus
Computer Centre Languages Visual Arts
Convocation Library Winter carnival
Crest/mace Mathematics
Education Music

This finding aid will help identify photographs of interest.

Additional Lakehead University Photographs

The Library Archives contains binders of more recent photographic material, circa early 1990's to 2003. This collection includes photographs, negatives, and photographic slides. The collection includes both black & white and coloured images.

A finding aid is not available for this collection so please inquire with library staff for assistance.

Guidelines for handling photographs

While working with documents, please observe the following guidelines as photographic materials are especially vulnerable to touch and require special precautions.

  • Keep the documents in the order in which you received them.
  • Do not put items on top of the photographs.
  • Avoid touching the photographs as fingerprints and skin oils can damage them
  • Wear white cotton gloves which will be supplied by library staff.
  • Exercise caution when handling photographs and try to hold it by the outside edge.
  • If photographs are in an album or protective sleeve, do not remove them.

Finnish history and culture - photographs

The Thunder Bay Finnish Canadian Historical Society Collection (MG 8) contains an extensive photograph collection. The series is organized as follows:

Series D - Photograph Series

A. Architecture: buildings and monuments

B. Arts:  theatre, music, dance, arts and crafts

C. Business and industry

D. Churches

E. Communities in Northwestern Ontario

F. Genealogy

G. Organizations

Note: A print finding aid is available for this collection.  Please inquire with Library staff.

Thunder Bay Finnish Canadian Historical Society photographs

Photocopy reproductions are available in binder format for ease of viewing.  The original photographs are housed in the Library archives.

Local and regional photographs

Some manuscript collections may also contain photo albums, scrapbooks, or other image materials.  Review the associated finding aid to help identify items of research interest. (located under the Archival Records tab)