Skip to main content
 

Education: Articles & Databases

K-12 Education Resources

Britannica School*  The Ministry of Education  has licensed Britannica School as the new Online English Encyclopaedia for all provincially funded school boards, faculties of education, and participating First Nations schools in Ontario.  Built-in differentiation changes reading levels (Elementary, Middle, or High).  (A password is required to login, please check your D2L course listings for this course, "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" or contact the Education Library Circulation Desk 343-8718).

Britannica Online is the online version of the well-known encyclopedia plus its annual "Year in Review" and "Book of the Year" volumes, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, the Britannica Internet Guide and much more.  Freely accessible.

Canadian Encyclopedia Online contains the complete text of the acclaimed Canadian Encyclopedia in English and French, the text of the Junior Encyclopedia of Canada (in English only), numerous interactivities, feature articles, games, the Canucklehead Quiz, and an extensive timeline of Canadian and world events.

Canadian Periodicals Index (CPIQ) is a bilingual resource to more than 400 English- and French-language journals, including more than 30 American titles dealing with North American and international issues. It provides both Canadian and worldwide coverage of mainstream and academic periodicals, as well as 80 business journals. It includes some full-text titles. Coverage: 1980-

Career Cruising is an interactive career resource which helps users discover their work interests and provide them with a list of suggested careers.

 

K-12 Ebook Databases

BookFlix  Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration. (A password is required to login, please check your D2L course listings for this course, "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" or contact the Education Library Circulation Desk 343-8718).

Tumblebook Library  is a collection of electronic animated, talking picture books with fiction, non-fiction and foreign language titles for children. The Tumblebook collection includes read alongs (chapter books) ebooks, puzzles and games and TumbleResources for teachers and students.  

TumbleBookCloud is a collection of videos and chapter books in categories which include: Ebooks, Read-Alongs, Graphic Novels, Videos (from National Geographic!), and Audio Books suitable for middle school and high school grades. Lesson plans and quizzes accompany the books.

International Children's Digital Library  Provides free access to high-quality children’s books from around the world in different languages, including Arabic, Afrikaans, Danish, English, Farsi and beyond.

Open Culture: The best free cultural & educational media on the web  This collection provides a list of free educational resources for K-12 students (kindergarten through high school students) and their parents and teachers. It features free video lessons/tutorials; free mobile apps; free audiobooks, ebooks and textbooks; quality YouTube channels; free foreign language lessons; test prep materials; and free web resources in academic subjects like literature, history, science and computing. This newly-released list is a work in progress.

Recommended Article Databases for Education

Lesson Planning Databases