While you are on your teaching placement you will continue to have access to the resources of the Education Library either in person or online through the Education Library website.
Check out these databases and more .... all available by clicking on the Education Databases link:
Curriculum Resource Center: has great reproducible pages and activities on topics such as history, mathematics, science, geography. Includes reproductions of primary documents, photographs, maps and activities.
AtoZMapsOnline: A great resources for social studies lessons. This database provides outline maps, reproducible maps and activities. Includes an excellent Teaching Tools section.
OERB (Ontario Educational Resource Bank): This Ontario Ministry of Education searchable database provides you with teaching activities, lesson plans and other resources prepared by Ontario teachers. You may search by grade, subject/course, strand, overall expectations, and/or keywords. Go directly to the OERB database at https://resources.elearningontario.ca/ (For username and password information check the "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" course in mycourselink )
OPHEA Health & Physical Education Curriculum Resources: Approved curriculum for Grade 1-8 Physical Education classes. Includes lesson plans and activities for Grades 1-8. Click the "Click to Access the HP&E Resources" button on the BOTTOM RIGHT SIDE OF PAGE to access this database.
OPHEA Safety Guidelines (freely available - no login required)
Bookflix: an excellent database of children's ebooks (picture books and non-fiction titles). (For username and password information check the "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" course in mycourselink )
Britannica School: This encyclopaedia is available online to all provincially funded school boards, faculties of education, and participating First Nations schools in Ontario. An excellent source of information for elementary, middle and high school students. (For username and password information check the "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" course in mycourselink )
Extended Loan of Education Library materials is available for the duration of your placement. Most materials in the Education Library may be signed out on Extended Loan, please ask the Library Staff for details by email firstname.lastname@example.org, or by telephone 807-343-8718.
Scan and Delivery of book excerpts and journal articles are available while you are on your placement. Find the book or journal title in the library catalogue and select the Request option on the right side. Log in with your Lakehead username and password, and from the list of options, choose Request an excerpt or journal article, then on the next page, fill in the blanks on the form. For additional information, please ask the Education Library Staff for details by email email@example.com, or by telephone 807-343-8718.
Passwords/Login Information: For access to OSAPAC/Education resources passwords & logins check the "Fac Ed/Library E-Tools for Teaching" course in mycourselink
The Education Library is open evenings and weekends during your placement. Please check here for current and up-to-date hours.
Library assistance available in person, by email firstname.lastname@example.org, or by phone 807-343-8718