Skip to main content
 

Government Information/Data: Government Publications

This guide will lead you to resources for government documents, statistics or data and geospatial data or maps

Government Search Engine

Locate publications on web sites of Canadian federal, provincial and municipal governments. (Special thanks to David Sharp, Carleton University.)

 

Loading

Can't find the government publication you need in our collection?

Use RACER, our interlibrary loan system to request a document from another library across Canada; just sign up for a free account.

Any questions? Contact ILLO at 807-343-8135 or email docdelivery@lakeheadu.ca

About Government Publications at Lakehead University Library

The Chancellor Paterson Library is a depository library for Canadian federal and Ontario provincial government publications.

Print copies of many Canadian federal government and Ontario provincial government publications are available in the CODOC and DOC Collections on the 2nd Floor of the Chancellor Paterson Library. 

For assistance locating CODOC or DOC publications ask at the Research Help Desk.

Useful Websites and Databases

GALLOPP (Government and Legislative Libraries online publications portal)
Access to government publications and select legislative materials found in Canadian parliamentary and legislative libraries

Heritage (Canadiana.ca)
The Héritage project is a 10-year initiative to digitize and make accessible online some of Canada’s most popular archival collections encompassing roughly 60 million pages of primary-source documents. Chronicling the country and its people from the 1600s to the mid-1900s, this collection represents a vast and unique resource for Canadian historians, students, and genealogists.

Canada

Government of Canada Official website

List of Government Departments and Agencies.

Government of Canada Publications

Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada - 1867 - 1994 (House of Commons); 1867 - 1996 (Senate)

Parliament of Canada. House of Commons. Debates - Debates (Hansard), 1994 - current

Parliament of Canada. Senate. Debates - Debates (Hansard), 1996 - current

Parliament of Canada. Senate. Debate Indexes - 1991 - 2005

Parliament of Canada website - Electronic versions of Journals, Debates, Bills from the 35th Parliament (1994) to present

LegisInfo - Essential research tool for finding information on legislation before Parliament. This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about each bil

Library of Parliament Research Publications

CanLII - Canadian Legal Information Institute - Provides access to Canadian and provincial statutes, regulations and judgments from various provincial courts and the Supreme Court of Canada

Statutes and Regulations of Canada

LLMC - Law Library Microform Consortium - A collection of archival digital material including government publications and legal materials from Canada, the United States and other countries.

ASK US!

Email

chat loading...