- Library
- Research Guides
- Indigenous Learning - Introduction to Research
- Reference Sources
Indigenous Learning - Introduction to Research
Credo Reference - Start your Search here!
Great place to start your search! With over 1,100 reference titles, 50,000 images, videos and more!
Ayaangwaamizin: the International Journal of Indigenous Philosophy
Ayaangwaamizin is a refereed academic journal devoted to the examination of Indigenous thought. Its existence is a recognition of the growing number of Indigenous scholars who are engaged in critically examining the ideas and concepts in their own cultural traditions as well as in others. The title chosen for the journal, Ayaangwaamizin, is drawn from the Anishnabe language. Translated literally, it is usually read as "to go carefully", "to tread carefully". But beyond this superficial meaning is the idea that the actions of persons have consequences for a larger whole. The term is used in a context that assumes the meaningfulness of existence and action - we do not live in a "neutral" universe that exists beyond and outside ourselves. We are a part of the fabric of the universe. (Description included in the journal. Publisher: Lakehead University, Northern and Regional Studies Committee)
eReference Books
- American Indian biographiesAvailable Online
- Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Gale Virtual Reference Library)Contains a unique collection of over 1000 entries that focus on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. (online version)
Print - Paterson Books - 3rd Floor GN 11 E63 2006 v.1-5
Includes articles on Algonquian, Inuit, Iroquois, Tlingit, and Potlatch. - Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and SocietyData on race & ethnicity 1820 to the present.
Topics include: Canada Aboriginal Women; Canada First Nations; Sami; Ojibwa; and Tlingit. - Native American Women: a Biographical DictionaryAvailable online.
- Oxford Companion to Canadian HistoryAvailable online.
- Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP)Print available: Gov. Pubs. CODOC (2nd Fl.) CA1 Z1 91A41
Also online available.
Print Reference Books
- Handbook of North American IndiansCall Number: E 76.2 H36 v.2-17
- Reference Encyclopedia of the American IndianCall Number: E 76.2 R33 2007
- Chronology of Native North American History: from Pre-Columbian Times to the PresentCall Number: E 77 C555 1994
- Gale Encyclopedia of Native American TribesCall Number: E 77 G15 1998 v.1-4
- Native North American Almanac: a Reference Work on Native North Americans in the United States and CanadaCall Number: E 77 N377 2001
- Encyclopedia of Native American HealingCall Number: E 98 M4L96 1996
- Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North AmericaCall Number: E 98 M4L963 1998
- Handbook of Native American MythologyCall Number: E 98 R3B26 2004
- American Indian Religious Traditions: an EncyclopediaCall Number: E 98 R3C755 2005 vol 1-3
- Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: an IntroductionCall Number: E 98 R3H73 2000
- Native American Issues : a Reference HandbookCall Number: E 98 T77T56 2005
- Treaties with American Indians: an Encyclopedia of Rights, Conflicts, and SovereigntyCall Number: KF 8203.6 T74 2008 v.1-3
- Encyclopedia of American Indian literatureCall Number: PS 153 I52E53 2007
- Aboriginal innovations in arts, science & technologyNorth (NSRC - 5th Fl.) E 91 A23 2002
Print Reference Books - BIOGRAPHIES
- Biographical dictionary of American Indian history to 1900Call Number: E 89 W35 2001
- Distinguished Native American spiritual practitioners and healersCall Number: E 89 J73 2002
- Native North American biographyCall Number: E 89 N395 1996 v.1-2
- Notable native AmericansCall Number: E 89 N67 1995
Print Reference Books - BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Bibliography of Native American bibliographiesCall Number: Z 1209.2 N67W55 2004
- History of the American Indian Bibliographic Series. United States Indian Policy.Call Number: Z 1209.2 U5P673