Skip to main content
 

Psychology: Find Journal Articles

Can't find the book/article you need in our collection?

Use RACER, our free interlibrary loan system to request a document from another library across Canada; just sign up for a free account.

Any questions? Contact ILL at 807-343-8135 or email docdelivery@lakeheadu.ca.

Key Article Databases

Other Databases

Citation Help

Check out our Citation Help guide with information on Zotero.

Digital Object Identifiers (DOIs) in APA

Publishers assign a DOI when an article is published electronically.  This alphanumeric string enables users to access content through a unique and permanent internet url.  DOIs must be added to citations in APA.

Finding a DOI.

Usually a DOI can be found on the first page of the article. It may also be in the bibliographic record of a database.

If you don't see a DOI, check crossref.org and search by the name of the author and the journal article.

Karplus, M. (2010). Dynamical aspects of molecular recognition. Journal of Molecular Recognition, 23(2), 102-104. doi: 10.1002/jmr.1018

Articles without DOIs

Include the url of the journal home page in your citation. If you found the article in a database and it is only published in that database, then you can add the database name and accession number or the database URL

examples:

Berman, R. P. (2009). Fused voices: Narrated monologue in jane austen's emma. Nineteenth-Century Literature, 64(1), 1-15. Retrieved from http://ucpressjournals.com/journal.php?j=ncl

Bilger, A.(2009). Women Novelists Before Jane Austen: The Critics and Their Canons (review). Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature 28(1), 201-202. The University of Tulsa. Retrieved October 9, 2013, from Project MUSE database.

For more information about APA Format, you can check out the APA Manual or the APA Style Blog.