Education (Graduate)

30 Essential Skills for the Qualitative Researcher fills a gap in introductory literature on qualitative inquiry by providing practical "how-to" information for beginning researchers in the social, behavioral, and health sciences. Creswell defines what a skill is, and acknowledges that while there may be more than 30 that an individual will use and perfect, the skills presented in this book are crucial for a new qualitative researcher starting a qualitative project.

This brief overview of mixed-methods research takes readers through the essential steps in planning and designing a study.

"Educational Research: Planning, Conducting, and Evaluating Quantitative and Qualitative Research offers a truly balanced, inclusive, and integrated overview of the processes involved in educational research. This text first examines the general steps in the research process and then details the procedures for conducting specific types of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods studies. Direct guidance on reading research is offered throughout the text, and interactive features provide opportunities for practice."--Publisher's description.

Interviewing is used very widely in qualitative research, and takes many different forms. The qualitative interview is also a method that is constantly evolving, in response both to theoretical and technological developments. King and Horrocks present a clear and thorough guide to the use of interviews in contemporary qualitative research. Writing in an accessible style, with many practical examples, the authors explore: a) the key debates in the philosophy and theory underlying interview methods; b) how to design and carry out interviews; c) the special requirements of group and remote (telephone and online) interviewing; and d) the central issues of reflexivity and ethics. The book also features a chapter which introduces the principles and practice of the thematic analysis of interview data, and the book concludes with a detailed consideration of the use of interviews in two major qualitative research traditions: phenomenological and narrative approaches. -- Back cover.

"The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research"-- Provided by publisher.

"Qualitative Inquiry" unites the basics of research design in qualitative research with the practice of analysing qualitative data. This textbook addresses the theory and practice of choosing and designing a qualitative approach and methodological and analytical ramifications that follow from making such choices. It aims to set out the theoretical underpinnings behind different methodological choices and to help students then follow up on (and interrogate) such approaches. Qualitative Inquiry is the ideal starting point for students on research training courses who have opted to develop a qualitative research project. In it, Butler-Kisber introduces students to theory and then demonstrates this theory in practice by showing how a project is actually designed and actually analysed. This book examines theory, method and interpretation in a way that is meaningful to students and new researchers, as well as discussing newer, more avant-garde, developments in qualitative research in arts-based inquiry. It is essential reading for students who are seeking to make sense of their research and their developing theoretical standpoints.

Part I. Traditions and Influences: Introduction and overview of the field; Learning how to be a qualitative researcher; Ethical issues in qualitative research; Designing your research: five popular research approaches -- Part II: Gathering, Organizing, and Analyzing: Social media, the internet, and technology; Embarking on qualitative research; Reflexivity and subjectivity; The role and function of a literature review; Learning about others through interviewing; Learning about others through observations and other techniques -- Part III. Putting It All Together: Making meaning from your data; Communicating your ideas; Judging and evaluating; Thinking about the future.

v. 1. Theoretical origins of qualitative research methods in education
v. 2. Language, philosophy and politics
additional theoretical tributaries and methodological developments in qualitative research in education
v. 3. Key substantive fields and topics of inquiry in qualitative research in education
v. 4. Contemporary methods, issues and debates in qualitative research in education

Focused on fully discussing what is considered to be "good" research, the Fourth Edition explains quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods, and incorporates the viewpoints of various research paradigms into its descriptions of these methods.

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.  The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.

The editors and contributors address issues of social justice and examine how people's struggles can inform public issues and in turn be transformed into social policy. Their writings are underpinned by a critical framework, and they are committed to addressing issues of inequality. As with previous editions, their aim is to show how the practices of qualitative research can effect change in the world in positive ways.--From publisher description.

Introduction: the discipline & practice of qualitative research / Norman K. Denzin and Yvonna S. Lincoln -- Strategies of inquiry -- The politics and practices of funding qualitative inquiry : messages about messages about messages / Julianne Cheek -- Controversies in mixed methods research / John W. Creswell -- Mixed methods research : contemporary issues in an emerging field / Charles Teddlie and Abbas Tashakkori -- Case study / Bent Flyvbjerg -- Performance ethnography / Judith Hamera -- Braiding narrative ethnography with memoir and creative nonfiction / Barbara Tedlock -- The constructionist analytics of interpretive practice / James A. Holstein and Jaber F. Gubrium -- Grounded theory methods in social justice research / Kathy Charmaz -- In the name of human rights : i say (how) you (should) speak (before i listen) -- Antjie krog -- Jazz and the banyan tree : roots and riffs on participatory action research / Mary Brydon-Miller, Michael Kral, Patricia Maguire, Susan Noffke and Anu Sabhlok) -- What is qualitative health research? / Janice M. Mors

Introduction : reviewing visual arts research -- Pt. 1. Contexts for visual arts research -- 1. Pigment to pixel -- 2. Paradigms lost -- Pt. 2. Theorizing visual arts practice -- 3. Explanation, understanding, and beyond -- 4. Visual knowing -- 5. Artist as theorist -- Pt. 3. Visual arts research practices -- 6. Practice as theory -- Epilogue : conclusions and beginnings.

Arts Based Research is ideal for students, researchers, and practitioners. This unique book provides a framework for broadening the domain of qualitative inquiry in the social sciences by incorporating the arts as a means of better understanding and rethinking important social issues. In the book's 10 thought-provoking chapters, authors Tom Barone and Elliot W. Eisner--pioneers in the field--address key aspects of arts based research, including its purpose and fundamental ideas, controversies that surround the field and the politics and ethics involved, and key criteria for evaluation.

"Climbing the Ladder with Gabriel demonstrates the power of photography and poetry to render the experience of methamphetamine addiction and recovery through the art of an interdisciplinary research methodology. Instructors, students, recovering addicts, and prevention/recovery advocates will find this a valuable resource. There are many ways to "know the world." The authors of this remarkable text have adopted an eclectic mix of methodologies from the arts and sciences to portray the experience of methamphetamine addiction. While it may never be possible to fully "know" another's experience, this book provides readers with one of the most intimate portraits of a methamphetamine addict ever assembled. The reader will be touched by the juxtaposition of everyday joy and the hopelessness and regret so poignantly portrayed by these authors. The book is also hopeful, documenting that, even in the throes of terrible addiction, unique humanness survives and recovery is always possible. " --John M. Roll, Professor and Associate Dean, College of Nursing. Director, Program of Excellence in the Addictions, Washington State University. "The authors of this remarkable work have opened the door for new ways of compiling and revealing what it means to be a human being caught in the dangerously perplexing problem of drug addiction and its fallout in a wide circle of social problems. By summoning up both a rigorous philosophy and procedural logic as a baseline and an artfulness that gives the bare bones of hard data a very human face, a heartbeat, and a voice that everyone can hear, they make a compelling case for such work in arts-based research and for pluralism in social science research design and methods. This is art caught in a handshake with science that matters. " --Ivan Brady, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, Anthropology, State University of New York, Oswego. "What a fantastic idea What a great accomplishment " --Laurel Richardson, Professor Emeritus of Sociology and international leader in qualitative research, The Ohio State University. "This poetic inquiry performs a vibrant testimony to the possibilities of personal and political transformation that can emerge in research that is heartful and artful. When we collaborate creatively and lovingly, we can find the ways of bountiful hope for living together with health. " --Carl Leggo, Professor and Poet, Language and Literacy, University of British Columbia, Canada.

Knowles and Cole bring together the top scholars in qualitative methods to provide a comprehensive overview of where arts-based research has come, and where it is going. It addresses the significant issues conceiving and conducting arts-based or arts-informed research in the social sciences and humanities.

Ma is a curriculum. The Japanese concept of ma refers to the interval between two markers. Ma is somatically constructed by a deliberate, attentive consciousness to what simultaneously is expressed, repressed, or suppressed between two structures. In a dialectic exploration, the spaces between--private/public, teacher/student, old/new, self/other, among others--are probed in ways that contribute to the significant research in teaching and learning that has been undertaken in the last few decades. Material culture is the study of belief systems, behaviours, and perceptions through artefacts and physical objects and is central to the socialization of human beings into culture. The analysis of cultural materials offers sites for concretizing the self and the self in context. New materiality challenges assumptions and clichés and allows for possibilities not yet imagined, perhaps even inconceivable possibilities. New materiality approaches accept that matter itself has agency. As such, this book investigates the intersections at the core of ma, engagements wherein the investigations create something new, in order to demonstrate the layers of the teaching and learning self. Interpretations of the concept of ma articulate new definitions to improve the conditions, practices, products, and pedagogies of being a teacher/learner in the twenty-first century. Ma is a site for epistemological understandings, threshold learnings, and self and curriculum becomings.

"This book presents the first comprehensive introduction to arts-based research (ABR) practices, which scholars in multiple disciplines are fruitfully using to reveal information and represent experiences that traditional methods cannot capture. Each of the SLX major ABR genres - narrative inquiry, poetry, music, performance, dance, and visual art - is covered in chapters that introduce key concepts and tools and present an exemplary research article by a leading ABR practitioner. Patricia Leavy discusses the kinds of research questions these innovative approaches can address and offers practical guidance for applying them in all phases of a research project, from design and data collection to analysis, interpretation, representation, and evaluation. Chapters include checklists to guide methodological decision making, discussion questions, and recommended print and online resources."--BOOK JACKET.

Parallaxic Praxis is a multi-modal, transmethodological research framework utilized by interdisciplinary teams to collect, interpret, transmediate, analyze, and mobilize data generatively. The term is used as a noun to refer to the model and also as a verb to describe the research practice. The methodology leverages the researchers¿ personal strengths and the collective expertise of the team including the participants and community when possible. The reparative and residual research design benefits include the use of multi-perspective analysis, multi-modal investigations, informal and directed dialogic conversations, and innovative knowledge creation. Relying on difference, dialogue, and creativity propulsion processes; and drawing on post-qualitative, new materiality, multiliteracies, and combinatorial, even juxtaposing theoretical frames; this model offers extensive research possibilities across disciplines and content areas to mobilize knowledge to broad audiences. This book explains methods, theories, and perspectives, and provides examples for developing creative research design in order to innovate new understandings. This model is especially useful for interdisciplinary partnerships or cross-sector collaborations. Examples include possibilities for scholars doing projects in social justice, community engagement, teacher education, Indigenous research, and health and wellness. This book specifically addresses issues of research design, ethics of arts-integrated research, methodology, knowledge generation, mobilization, and dissemination for academics, students, and community partners. Examples include projects in social justice, community engagement, teacher education, Indigenous research, addictions, and health and wellness.

Arts education research has increased significantly since the beginning of the new millennium. This peer-reviewed book, the first of two volumes, captures some of the exciting developments in Canada. There is geographical diversity represented from across this large country, as well as theoretical and methodological diversity in the chapters. There is also a sense of togetherness with those, and other, diversities. There are calls to action and calls to play. We hear voices of artists, researchers, and artist researchers. The life histories of others, and of the self, are presented. Perspectives on Arts Education Research in Canada, Volume 1: Surveying the Landscape provides a wide spectrum of current research by members of the Arts Researchers and Teachers Society (ARTS)/La societ des chercheurs et des enseignants des arts (SCEA), a Special Interest Group (SIG) within the Canadian Association for Curriculum Studies (CACS), which is in turn, is a constituent association of the Canadian Society for the Study of Education (CSSE). Contributors are: Bernard W. Andrews, Julia Brook, Susan Catlin, Genevieve Cloutier, Yoriko Gillard, Kate Greenway, Michael Hayes, Nan Jordan, Sajani (Jinny) Menon, Catrina Migliore, Kathryn Ricketts, Pauline Sameshima, and Sean Wiebe.

In the tradition of a decade of bi-annual gatherings of the International Symposium on Poetic Inquiry, this volume serves as the fifth refereed symposium anthology. Enchantments of Place celebrates poetry and poetic voices'theorizing and exploring poetic inquiry as an approach, methodology, and/or method for use in contemporary research practices. Poetic inquiry has increased in prominence as a legitimate means by which to collect, assimilate, analyze, and share the results of research across many disciplines. With this collection, we hope to continue to lay the groundwork internationally, for researchers, scholars, graduate students, and the larger community to take up poetic inquiry as a way to approach knowledge generation, learning, and sharing.This volume specifically works to draw attention to the ancient connection between poetry and the natural world with attention to broadening the ecological scope and impact of the work of poetic inquirers.

A brilliant and daring piece of scholarship, this book will raise eyebrows and spark much debate. It does not simply break new ground, it breaks all the rules ultimately compelling us to examine and embrace scholarship in fresh, innovative ways. Seeing Red is based on Pauline Sameshima's doctoral dissertation, Winner of the 2007 Arts Based Educational Research (ABER) Outstanding Dissertation Award by the American Educational Research Association (AERA). This award is for the best dissertation that explores, is an exemplar of, and pushes the boundaries of arts based educational research. The book showcases a PhD dissertation written in the form of an epistolary bildungsroman a didactic novel of personal developmental journeying. The work is a fiction (letters from a graduate student to the professor she is in love with) embedded in developmental understanding of living the life of a teacher researcher. The work shares the possibilities of how artful research informs processes of scholarly inquiry and honours the reader's multi-perspective as integral to the research project's transformative potential. Parallax is the apparent change of location of an object against a background due to a change in observer position or perspective shift. The concept of parallax encourages researchers and teachers to acknowledge and value the power of their own and their readers and students' shifting subjectivities and situatedness which directly influence the constructs of perception, interpretation, and learning. The novel format ties themes and characters together just as storytelling can bind theory and practice. Norman Denzin (2005) supports the pedagogical and libratory nature of the critical democratic storytelling imagination. He hails this book as ..". bold, innovative, a wild, transformative text, ... almost unruly, a new vision for critical, reflexive inquiry." The love story and issues of teacher/learner role boundaries are controversial and largely unspoken of in educational settings and the letter format is voyeuristic. In this sense, the audience is being given a peek, a look at the unrevealed. One of the advantages of the epistolary novel is its semblance of reality and the difficulty for readers to distinguish the text from genuine correspondence (Wurzbach, 1969). The genre allows the reader access to the writing character's intimate thoughts without perceived interference from the author's manipulation and conveys events with dramatic and sensational immediacy (Carafi, 1997)."